Natural Blonde

27 10 2010

The dark brown I had dyed my hair has now completely faded away, leaving only the ash blonde echo of the summer California I left. I had said to myself that it was important when I came here to blend in; to not stand out like some kind of Canon camera, picture snapping tourist, and instead, try to walk the walk the way the people in Korea do. But as the days turned into weeks and the weeks faded into months, so too did the brown semi permanent dye, and along with it my effort to conceal the fact that I am a foreigner to this foreign place. In retrospect, I’m not really sure why it was so important that I blend in. But I am slowly learning that the more I stand out, the lighter and more blonde my hair becomes, the more I am simply myself, the more I seem to fit in. I wanted my hair to be darker so that the aggressive bleach blonde streak of stranger wouldn’t follow me around like a sign suggesting that I need help. But I do need help, with just about everything. And the more I come to terms with the fact that I have absolutely no idea what the hell is going on, the more I find there is being offered.

 

Actions

Information

Think you got the guts?

